Wednesday, 11 July 2018

100% Full Scholarship to attend University of Pretoria

University of Pretoria scholarships

Application Deadline: 15 September 2018

The University of Pretoria (UP) in partnership with the Mastercard Foundation (MCF) is currently offering scholarships for high achieving African students interested in studying at undergraduate or postgraduate levels, commencing in January 2019.

The Mastercard foundation scholars program (MCFSP) targets academically qualified, yet economically disadvantaged young people in South Africa, SADC and the rest of Africa, who will contribute to the transformation of the continent. Community service is a necessary component of the Program with all students giving back to disadvantaged communities.

The identified scholars need to demonstrate a commitment to making a difference in their communities, having faced significant barriers to accessing and completing quality tertiary education. The Program provides a comprehensive scholarship, mentoring and counseling, academic support and access to work readiness skills.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Candidates should be citizens from Sub-Saharan African country.

  • Applicants should come from economically disadvantaged backgrounds and demonstrate financial neediness.
  • Candidates should demonstrate leadership potential and ought to be involved in a giving back project eg. in a community, at school, church etc

  • Academic excellence is paramount and students have to maintain a high academic average at all times.
  • Candidates need to be first time applicants as first year students in the degree programme.

The MasterCard Foundation offers a full scholarship to students who have applied for and been admitted to one of the following undergraduate study programmes at the University
of Pretoria:

Faculty of Engineering

  • BEng (Industrial Engineering) 
  • BEng (Chemical Engineering)
  • BEng (Civil Engineering) 
  • BEng (Electrical Engineering)
  • BEng (Electronic Engineering)
  • BEng (Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering)
  • BEng (Mining Engineering)
  • BEng (Computer Engineering)

Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences

  • BCom (Accounting Science) 
  • BCom (Financial Science)
  • BCom (Economics)
  • BCom (Informatics)
  • BCom (Agribusiness Management)

Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences

  •  BScAgric (Food Science and Technology)
  • BScAgric (Agricultural Economics/Agribusiness Management)
  • BScAgric (Animal Science)
  • BScAgric (Plant Pathology)
  • BScAgric (Applied Plant and Soil Sciences

Programs Available 

  • Postgraduate Study Programmers. 
  • Master’s degree applicants in the above-mentioned fields may also apply.
  • Honour’s candidates will be considered if they are prepared to commit to continuing to a Master’s degree.

THERE ARE NO PhD Scholarships Available.


If your MCFSP application is successful the Program will cover the following:

  • Full tuition fees
  • Accommodation in a UP residence. 
  • Meals. 
  • Books and printed material. 
  • A modest monthly stipend. 
  • Medical aid (Ingwe only). 
  • Travel costs (one return trip for the duration of the study period). 
  • Cost of one visa application for the duration of the study period.

For More Information:

VISIT the Official Webpage of the University of Pretoria MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program (MCFSP) 2018
Previous Post
Next Post